NYSPHSAA announces winter scholar-athlete teams

File photoThe Salmon River girls varsity basketball team, coached by Shawn Martin (far left) and Terri Swamp (far right), were one of seven Shamrock winter sports teams recognized as a NYSPHSAA Scholar-Athlete program.

LATHAM – Twenty of the 24 Section 10 schools were named in the New York State Public High School Athletic Association’s announcement regarding its 2019-20 winter Scholar-Athlete Program earlier this past week. This is the 28th year that NYSPHSAA has conducted this program, which is sponsored by Pupil Benefits Plan, Inc. and the American Dairy Association North East.

Of the 20 Section 10 schools to earn scholastic honors, Franklin County had four of its schools recognized – with Salmon River having seven of its winter varsity teams listed.

In order to be recognized by NYSPHSAA for the Scholar-Athlete program, a school’s individual varsity sports team must have at least 75 percent of that team achieve an average of 90 or better.

This past winter season, NYSPHSAA recognized 2,475 Scholar-Athlete teams and 30,497 individuals, with a total of 569 schools across the state participating in the program.

“Congratulations to the Scholar-Athlete teams and individuals from the winter 2020 season,” said NYSPHSAA Executive Director Dr. Robert Zayas. “The Scholar-Athlete program continues to be one of the most rewarding endeavors we encourage here at the association. The winter season was extremely challenging this year, so to see this many student-athletes honored for their work in the classroom is truly rewarding.”

As previously stated, Salmon River led Franklin County with seven teams listed. Brushton-Moira, Chateaugay and St. Regis Falls had at least one varsity program in the mix.

Salmon River Scholar-Athlete teams are boys basketball, boys hockey, boys indoor track and field, competitive cheering, girls basketball, girls hockey and girls indoor track and field.

“Kudos to all of the coaches and athletes,” said former Salmon River varsity coach and current elementary school Principal Ben Barkley. “The ‘student first’ approach has made a significant impact on Shamrock athletics.”

Chateaugay had three of its winter sports teams (boys basketball, girls basketball and girls bowling) make the list, while St. Regis Falls had both of its winter sports teams (boys and girls basketball) named and Brushton-Moira had its competitive cheering squad among the honorees.

There were also multiple schools throughout the section making the listing, with H.C. Williams (Canton) having eight winter teams (boys basketball, girls basketball, boys hockey, girls hockey, wrestling, boys indoor track and girls indoor track) listed, while Ogdensburg Free Academy had seven (boys basketball, boys hockey, cheering, girls basketball, wrestling, boys indoor track and girls indoor track).

Other Section 10 schools with teams named were Clifton-Fine (cheering), Edwards-Knox (cheering), Gouverneur (boys indoor track, boys swimming, cheering, girls basketball, girls indoor track, wrestling), Hammond (girls basketball), Harrisville (boys basketball, girls basketball), Hermon-Dekalb (boys basketball, girls basketball), Heuvelton (boys basketball, girls basketball, cheering), Lisbon (boys basketball, girls basketball, cheering), Madrid-Waddington (girls basketball, cheering), Morristown (girls basketball), Norwood-Norfolk (boys basketball, boys hockey, girls basketball, boys indoor track, girls indoor track), Parishville-Hopkinton (boys basketball), Potsdam (boys basketball, boys hockey, girls basketball, girls hockey, boys indoor track, girls indoor track) and St. Lawrence Central (boys basketball, boys hockey, girls basketball, cheering).

Johnson Newspapers 7.1


Recommended for you