MALONE –– There was a bit of a “Groundhog Day” feel to the Malone Golf Club’s Club Championship this past weekend, with three of the six contested flights crowning repeat winners.

Nancy Somerville won her fourth straight ladies club championship, while Trent Thomas won his second consecutive title in the A flight and Brennan Lashomb also repeated as the junior champion.

Somerville, who won eight titles in the past nine years, with her streak broken only by Sylvia Thompson in 2016, shot consistent rounds of 82 for a six-shot win over Eileen Kilcullen, who had won ladies title in the Adirondack Open played on the course just last week. Beth Mosher finished in third, eight strokes back of Kilcullen, and Thompson was fourth, one behind Mosher.

On the men’s side, Thomas recorded rounds of 73, 76 and 75 to capture the A flight title by nine strokes. Graham Niles and Ben Honahan both carded scores of 233, with Niles being awarded second place on a readback.

Lashomb made it two in a row in the junior flight, making a seven-stroke lead after the first round stand up against Jerry Scharf after both golfers carded 90s in the second round.

Scott Henning won the men’s B flight by 13 strokes over runner-up Ed Pritchard and Dave Aguon won the C flight championship. Bailey Conklin cruised to an 11-stroke win in the college flight.

Kelly Poupore won the ladies’ B flight and Micaela McCarthy won the C flight.

The Malone Golf Club will host the Mixed Team Championship, played in a two-person better ball format, on Sunday. First tee time is 10 a.m.



A Flight

1. Trent Thomas, 73-76-75-224; Graham Niles, 77-76-80-233; 3. Ben Honahan, 77-76-80-233 (Niles awarded second on a readback); 4. Zack Oakes, 84-76-77-237; 5. Rich White, 74-83-82-239; 6. GJ Demarkse, 84-78-78-240; 7. Kristopher Hardy, 78-79-84-241; 8. Mike Patenaude, 81-76-85-242; 9. Philip Swamp, 81-76-86-243; 10. Pete Laramee, 81-80-83-244; 11. Aaron Day, 82-82-81-245, 12. Dan Honahan, 84-80-85-249; 13. Matt Laramee, 87-93-76-256.

B Flight

1. Scott Henning, 82-83-165; 2. Ed Pritchard, 85-93-178; 3. Jon Brown, 90-90-180; 4. Stephen Vanier, 92-91-183; 5. Jacob Henning, 94-94-188; 6. Duane Hartson, 98-91-187; 7. Kelsey Head, 98-105-203.

C Flight

1. Dave Aguon, 105-117-222.

College Flight

1. Bailey Conklin, 79-87-166; 2. Kyler Head, 88-89-177; 3. Tucker Bartenslager, 105-95-200; 4. Taylor Tallman, 101-101-202; 5. Dave Aguon, 105-117-222.

Junior Flight

1. Brennan Lashomb, 98-90-188; 2. Jerry Scharf, 105-90-197.


A Flight

1. Nancy Somerville, 82-82-164; 2. Eileen Kilcullen, 86-84-170; 3. Beth Moser, 89-89-178; 4. Sylvia Thompson, 94-85-179; 5. Edie Demarse, 95-87-182; 6. Kathy Fleury, 96-97-193.

B Flight

1. Kelly Poupore, 94-97-191; 2. Fran Goodrow, 90-107-197.

C Flight

1. Micaela McCarthy, 93-114-207.

Johnson Newspapers 7.1


Recommended for you