AKWESASNE — The St. Regis Mohawk Tribe on Saturday announced four nominees who would run for three available seats, ahead of the Tribal Caucus in June.

Pending submitted paperwork, Tribal Chief Eric Thompson and Sub-Chief Benjamin Herne will run unopposed. Two candidates — Summer Bero and Jamie Ross — have been nominated to fill the Tribal Clerk position.

All nominees must turn in required petition documents to Executive Assistant/Board Liaison Cathy Mitchell, at the Administration Building, by Wednesday, in order to enter the race.

The ‘un-official’ caucus list is scheduled to be posted by Friday, Tribe officials said Saturday. Official candidates will be posted by May 14.

The Tribal Election will be held from 9 a.m.-5 p.m., on June 5, at the former IGA Building.

Early voting will take place from June 1-2, between 6–9 p.m.

Due to COVID-19 concerns, absentee ballots will be available for Tribe members who do not wish to vote in-person.

Absentee ballots can be requested by calling the Tribal Clerk’s office. Tribe members will need to request their absentee ballots, by May 26 at noon.

Home voting is scheduled for June 4, from 9 a.m.–4 p.m., by appointment only. Appointments can be set up by calling the clerk’s office, but must be done by June 1, at noon.

A deadline for Tribe members to confirm their voter eligibility has been set for May 28, before 4 p.m. Members can direct inquiries to the Tribal Clerk’s Office by calling 518-358-2272.

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

Johnson Newspapers 7.1

Recommended for you